What Defines Me

When faced with the question “Who am I?” I realize I do not have an answer. Maybe I am defined by the sum of my parts. Perhaps, I am defined by my experiences. I do not know, but I hope to be more. I hope that my experiences form parts of me, but do not control me.

This past year, I have experienced many emotional events: going away to college, my mom’s illness, spending a week in a mental hospital, facing my insecurities over my disability, and being diagnosed with clinical depression and an eating disorder. The events are prominent to me, and yet they are not me.

I am a Classics major, a writer, a disability activist, a runner, and a friend. These roles evolve as the world around me evolves, and they mature as I mature, but my values shape who I am.

Leave a Reply

