To Those Who Do Not “See” My Disability

Those who do not see my disability do not see me. They do not see the value in my life. My life is not plain or typical. It is nuanced with special equipment and personal care attendants. I do not have the privilege of being able to get myself dressed when my PCAs cannot show up. I do not have the privilege of seamless self-expression. I usually have to repeat myself multiple times before someone understands me. This has forced me to be patient; to be willing to take my time when speaking and to not take it personally when people cannot understand me. For those who claim they do not “see disability,” all of the lessons I have to teach will be lost. They will not see what I have to offer the world. I may not be my disability, but without my disability I would not be me.

Leave a Reply

